Kano: Tribunal Declares Nasiru Gawuna Winner, Sacks Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf

By Mohammed Bello Doka. 

Kano, Nigeria - In a landmark ruling, the Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has declared Nasiru Gawuna of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the March 18 governorship election, effectively sacking Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf. The judgment, which was transmitted virtually via Zoom, came after the APC filed a petition challenging the results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to the INEC, the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) candidate, Abba Kabir Yusuf, had initially been declared the winner with 1,019,602 votes, defeating Nasiru Gawuna of the APC, who scored 890,705 votes. However, the APC contested the results, leading to a legal battle.

The three-man panel, presiding over the case, ordered the withdrawal of Yusuf's certificate of return and directed a certificate to be issued to Gawuna. The tribunal invalidated 165,663 votes from Yusuf's tally, stating that the ballot papers were neither stamped nor signed, rendering them invalid.

This decision marks a significant turning point in the political landscape of Kano State. With the declaration of Nasiru Gawuna as the rightful winner, the state is poised for a new era of governance under the stewardship of the All Progressives Congress.

Post a Comment

Share your thoughts with ANN..

Previous Post Next Post