10th NASS: North Central Senators-Elect Reject APC Zoning Formula

Senators-elect from the North-Central geopolitical zone have rejected the zoning arrangement proposed by the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for principal positions in the 10th National Assembly.

In its zoning formula announced on Monday, the APC endorsed Senator Godswill Akpabio from the South-South for Senate President and Senator Barau Jibrin from the North-West for the post of Deputy Senate President.

Speaker of the House of Representatives was proposed to Abbass Tajudeen from the North-West, while Benjamin Kalu from the South-East was preferred for the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Our caucus reviewed the proposed zoning structure released, and we are not pleased and comfortable with the allocation of the Positions of the Deputy Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the 10th National Assembly to a particular geopolitical zone of the country (Northwest), we hereby reject it.

“The convention has always been that the six (6) geopolitical zones of the country will have one each of the six (6) positions. Now that the South West and North East have produced the President-elect and Vice President-elect respectively, it is only fair and natural that the Positions of the Senate President, Deputy Senate President, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives should be shared amongst the other four (4) geopolitical zones i, e the North Central, South South, South East and North West.

“Sequel to the above, we as a caucus is calling on the All Progressives Congress (APC) to immediately retract its earlier decision which schemes us out of the power sharing formula of the Country and cede the position of the Deputy Senate President to the North Central Zone so as to ensure faimess, equity and justice for a smooth 10th Senate.”

Post a Comment

Share your thoughts with ANN..

Previous Post Next Post